Unashamed (or trying)

What with one thing and another, I have gained a significant amount of weight since marrying Luke.
And I don’t like it.
I don’t like how my body looks bigger.
Luke says I need to love my body.
Glennon says I need to love my body.
But I don’t.
I would probably body-hate my way into an eating disorder if my husband weren’t watching out for that.
I don’t love my body and I don’t even want to. I don’t even want to want to.
But even so, here is the skin I am in. And I’ve spent enough of my life feeling like I was a terrible person. I was raised with shame and I certainly don’t love that.
So even though I’m not ready to love my body, I’m ready to not be ashamed of it anymore.
Resolution, more full body pictures.

20131027-111140.jpg
More demanding Luke to get a picture of me with the kids.

20131027-111320.jpg

This is me. And I won’t live with shame anymore.

20131027-111510.jpg

4 thoughts on “Unashamed (or trying)

  1. erinrebecca

    First, I love your hair! Purple is definitely your color.

    Second, I hear you about gaining weight. I gained almost one hundred pounds over the course of two years while I was severely depressed. It was miserable and confusing and weird. But I think learning to love and accept your body is part of learning to love and accept yourself, especially for those of us raised with a lot of shame about who we are. It’s hard to take care of something you don’t value.

    Reply
  2. Daisy Dial

    Yet another issue i am happy to see you tackling at such a young age. I have always hated my body, and worse, felt like if I were thin all my problems would go away because I would like myself, and then others would too. In reality the people that love me, love me, period. I am trying to get to a point where I love myself without condition, and am hoping that once I can, I will want to feel better, healthier & have more energy. We live in a “judged by our looks” kind of society, and it is just plain wrong. PS I think you look marvelous, and your kids are adorable!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: spending money on me | Lana Hobbs the Brave

Leave a Reply

