an update on me

How I’m doing health-wise: depressed. Taking meds and recently altered a dosage so I hope that helps. I also am looking to get a new therapist and restart therapy.

I have started joining in on a weekly twitter chat about mental illness – #bravechat – and that really helps my outlook too.

My year’s reading goal: I read The God Delusion by Dawkins in January. I also read a fiction book by Terry Pratchett (I love Discworld!).

In February, so far i have read two ‘graphic novel’ memoirs by Alison Bechdel (of the story evaluating ‘Bechdel Test’). They were both very interesting but as they were such short reads, i think i’ll read another book for the month. My library has The Moral Landscape by Sam Harris, so i might read that next. Or maybe I’ll finish Thus Spoke Zarathustra.

My Intro To Philosophy class: It’s going well.  We’re starting out with metaphysics, and i most identify with Materialism. I find it all fascinating. Also, I am noodling a thesis for the paper I have to write. I think I’ll talk about Nietzsche and postmodernism, but that’s as far as I have gotten.

my writing: I haven’t written much at all lately, even privately. I feel like my words are mostly gone right now, and I hate that.

milestones at home: we weaned the boys off of bottles onto sippy cups. Progress.

 

so how are you? and how are your resolutions shaping up?

Leave a Reply

