‘halfway out of the dark’

‘On every world, wherever people are, in the deepest part of the winter, at the exact mid-point, everybody stops and turns and hugs. As if to say, “Well done. Well done, everyone! We’re halfway out of the dark.”‘ ~ Doctor Who: A Christmas Carol

I’m gearing up to say ‘Good Riddance’ to 2013. (Luke is behind me as I write suggesting hand gestures to help me in my farewells).

It’s been a rough year, what with the worst depression of my life and the growing pains of putting up boundaries. I’ve grown a lot, but it’s come with difficulty (except the weight gain. that was easy).

Over the year, I’ve started meds and therapy (and then quit therapy because of insurance issues), started this blog, and become a somewhat more independent person. I’ve learned about boundaries and how to enforce them. I’ve made big attempts at self improvement. Throughout it all, I’ve shed a lot of baggage and become more myself, and there’s still a long way to go.

In the new year, I plan to continue improving my mind, by taking another college class and reading at least one serious book per month – starting with completing “Thus Spoke Zarathustra”.  (if there’s anything I simply MUST read, please leave a comment below)

I plan to make many more trips to the library for Story Time with the boys in 2014, to go on plenty of dates with my husband, and to take picnic dinners to the river.

I plan to continue exercising (almost) daily, blogging when i feel like it, and eating fresh vegetables.

I have few real goals for 2014, except to learn and continue surviving, and continue coming out of overwhelming depression, out of the fundamentalist mindset, and into myself.

One thought on “‘halfway out of the dark’

  1. Pingback: a review of Complex PTSD by Pete Walker | Lana Hobbs the Brave

Leave a Reply

