I Quit NaNoWriMo

If you somehow haven’t heard, November is National Novel Writing Month — NaNoWriMo. I did it last year and enjoyed it, plus i got 50,000 words of my novel written, so I ‘won’!
The problem is, I have changed so much since last November, that I no longer believe much of what i wrote then. I was trying to salvage my faith, and make it something worthwhile in my writing, and now I’ve left the faith. That’ll make a different story.
When I try to edit, I feel like I’m editing someone else’s (crappy) novel.

So I had decided to completely rewrite the book this month, but I feel so uninspired. I didn’t prep properly, and I just don’t have a book inside me trying to get out.

Of course, I could fight to write down more crap just to win NaNoWriMo again, but I’d prefer to take my time writing things I actually care about.
Also, when i tried to write i just sort of froze up and panicked.

So I quit NaNoWriMo after getting about six words down on paper.

I’m just not ready to be a novelist. Right now I like blogging.
My family always said ‘(our last name)s are NOT QUITTERS’. I spent a summer when i was young attempting to learn tennis because we were not quitters. I had no talent, and the instructor regularly made fun of me. I hated it. but by golly I would not quit.
But I’ve learned that sometimes quitting is best. Better than wasting time on something you hate that has no real benefit, and that might suck up your mental health.

So while i think there is benefit in setting a goal and scrambling to meet it, there’s also benefit in giving up goals when that’s healthiest for you.

What about you, are you doing NaNoWriMo? Have you ever given up a goal for your own good?

4 thoughts on “I Quit NaNoWriMo

  1. Claire

    I started NaNoWriMo yesterday and I’m ready to quit today for a few reasons, some like yours…
    – I don’t have a novel in me waiting to get out. I have a lot of blogs in me waiting to get out.
    – I’ve just about got my life organised enough that I can fit everything in without being exhausted all the time. I’m ready to enjoy that for a bit.
    – There’s loads I want to do with the bit of free time I’ve made myself.
    – It’s probably good for me to *not* do something, to not prove myself this time.

    Reply
  2. sometimesmagical

    I tried it a couple times before finally deciding it just wasn’t my style to crank out fifty thousand words on a single project in a month. I always felt bad that I couldn’t, but last year I finally figured out that I’m pretty productive in my own way and that’s good for me even if it doesn’t match up to an arbitrary standard of another. I’m very happy to be blogging and writing on my own terms.

    Reply
  3. Jon R.

    I quit last night after “winning” two out of the last three years. This time I found myself feeling that an ending that would fit the story would be untrue to my own pessimistic world-view, and I was beginning to feel as though I had an obligation to please some eventual reader and I’d have to lie to do that. As a result writing was becoming drudgery instead of enjoyable. Maybe I’ll try again next year with the understanding that I can be a pessimistic — honest, as I see it — as ever I wish, and never mind who might or might not read. If I hadn’t already self-published a couple of novellas and several shorter stories, I might have felt less inhibited by honesty.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

