songs to sing

Sometimes I feel like I’m all out of songs to sing. I used to be full of them.

Hymns and spirituals, songs for hope

Mine eyes have seen the glory of the coming of the Lord

Amazing grace, how sweet the sound

Because He lives, I can face tomorrow. Because He lives, all fear is gone!

songs for hard times

Hold me Jesus, cuz I’m shaking like a leaf, you have been my king of glory, won’t you be my prince of peace

lullabies

i have a maker, he formed my heart. before even time began, my life was in his hands.

God bless you, and keep you, cause his face to shine upon you, lift his countenance on you and give you peace.

And now, I’m without them.

Without the old songs and stories – who am I? What can I sing when i’m afraid? When I no longer believe Jesus will hold me, when I no longer believe in glorious days to come.

I feel both angry and sad at the loss but I can’t go back.

(explicit lyrics)

I’m bereft of the music of my childhood and I find simple songs in my heart to sing. I make a new lullaby.

good night, little boys, sleep in peace, little boys, mom and daddy love you, it’s time to go to sleep.

I find new music to dance to.

Philadelphia chickens going dancing tonight

I find new songs about myself

Whispered notes, from the piano in the corner of the room. Hold your throat, is that healing that you’re hearing in her tune?

Make your siren’s call, and sing all you want, I will not hear what you have to say, cuz I need freedom now, and I need to know how, to live my life as it’s meant to be

Slowly, I gather music around me, rebuilding my heart. There might never be the music of eternal glory and hope, the security of ‘knowing’ I’m right.

But by god, there will be dancing.

One thought on “songs to sing

  1. Just Vegas

    I’ve had this same issue (LOVE your blog BTW). I really do miss some of those songs but I just. can’t. sing them. I turn to Over the Rhine and The Avett Brothers now for the most part. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

