Reaching Out to Christian Allies: An Apology and a Challenge

religist – that’s a new word for me but as an agnostic/freethinker, i think i’ll adopt it. I never really realized how privileged Christians were until I didn’t identify as one any more.

sometimesmagical

I talk a lot about my dislike for Christianity.

As a survivor of an abusive Christian cult, I think I’ve earned that right.

But I also recognize and appreciate that not all Christians are abusive sociopaths. I have some friends who identify as Christian who are wonderful people. I’m so proud of them for finding a way to turn Christianity into a positive faith experience (not that it’s my place to feel proud of them, but I have to give them credit and respect for doing what I could not).

I thought that my disdain and criticism of Christianity were clearly not something they would perceive as directed at them.

I was wrong.

Within most systems of oppression, there is a way to differentiate between individuals within the privileged group and the system that grants them privilege and oppresses others. Patriarchy and male privilege delineate a system that oppresses women…

View original post 1,183 more words

Leave a Reply

