Dairy Free Pina Colada Ice Cream

I take a break from my normal posts to give you some Friday fun!
I almost apologized for posting a recipe, but I’m trying to apologize less and just live more. And besides, if you actually try this recipe, well, ‘you’ll thank me later’, as Detective Adrian Monk says.
I eat a lot of vegan and dairy free ice cream, because I’m dairy-intolerant, and after a mint chocolate chip coconut milk ice cream flop — mint and coconut don’t mix well — I decided to make my return to ice-cream-making with something that would be natural with coconut milk. Pina colada!

You will need one can of full fat coconut milk, brown sugar, plain gelatin or guar gum (optional but prefereable, but remember that gelatin isn’t vegan) a can of crushed pineapple, rum (optional) and vanilla, and a 1.5 quart capacity ice cream maker (I have a red Cuisinart with a lovely freezer bowl)

chocolate syrup and a maraschino cherry make a perfect garnish.

first strain the pineapple, preserving the juice in a mixing bowl
then sprinkle about a half tsp of gelatin over the juice and let soften for a minute before stirring. (if you usually use guar gum in your ice cream, then follow whatever seems an appropriate amount and method, as I am unfamiliar with that). If you don’t have any, skip it, but it makes a softer freeze ice cream when you dilute the fat with juice, so that you don’t wind up with a block of ice.

Then add in about 1/4 cup brown sugar, a shot (an ounce) of rum (optional. or you can probably use more if you like that sort of thing) and 2 tsp of vanilla (alchohol also helps to make a softer ice cream), stir well, then dump in the coconut milk and mix thoroughly.

pour into the ice cream freezer.

When nearly done, dump in the reserved pineapple – if you don’t mind frozen bits of fruit. If you don’t want the frozen fruit, just use the pineapple as a garnish. (that’s what I’ll do next time)

serve with a drizzling of chocolate syrup (I use homemade), and a maraschino cherry for a delicious summer treat! (i think it’s very best when freshly made, because of the texture, but it’s good frozen too). you could even stop the ice cream freezer early and drink the treat as a shake instead 🙂

If you make it, let me know how you like it! Happy Friday, everyone!

20130730-131829.jpg
PS here is my ice cream recipe and inspiration pin board I have written several of my recipes and adaptations to make dairy free ice cream 🙂

2 thoughts on “Dairy Free Pina Colada Ice Cream

  1. bornsirius

    You’re a saint!!! I’m just transitioning to vegan and trying to find a good ice cream is bloody difficult! I’ll have to try this, sans alcohol… it sounds delish though!

    Reply
    1. lanamhobbs Post author

      Hope you like it! Remember that gelatin isn’t vegan 🙂 I used it for this because the higher water content means the ice cream will freeze harder than i like, without some help… My usual ice cream is simpler than this: 1 can coconut milk, sugar of choice, and flavor. Instant coffee and a little cocoa powder and vanilla is an excellent flavor 🙂
      My current favorite flavor is peanut butter (around 1/3 cup for 1 can coconut milk. Sweetener of choice for this is real maple syrup) best with some chocolate chunks and topped with chopped peanuts.
      You can get so creative with the basic recipe I hardly miss ‘real’ ice cream 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

