Do we want a ‘Christian Nation’?

Libby Anne at Love, Joy, Feminism (one of my favorite blogs) writes today about ‘the Bizarre Libertarian/Christian Reconstructionist alliance’

Her point today is mostly this:

“But this leaves me puzzled. I understand how people combine Christian social conservatism with libertarian positions on economics, but I do not understand this combination of pure libertarianism with pure Old Testament law. This is entirely contradictory. You can’t idolize liberty and believe in freedom from government intrusion and also believe that the civil government should be stoning anyone who breaks Levitical Law. It just doesn’t work that way! But apparently, when it comes to The Ron Paul Curriculum, it does.”

She then warns libertarians that their party is being invaded. I’m not really a libertarian, but I guess I fit there better than any other major party. Ultra conservative Republicans – especially christians – claim to want minimal goverment intervention. Except in things like marijuana, alchohol, abortion, same sex marriage, divorce, whether homosexuals can be foster parents…

They want the government to allow them to hit their children and homeschool them without any supervision, but they want the government to make sure the rest of the world does as they think the bible says they should.

I think I believe in small government all around. Except for laws protecting children 😉 Seriously though, i think the government should protect people from other people (I’m not sure what the true libertarian stance is on this, actually.) but that it isn’t the government’s job to legislate morality or to protect people from themselves.

I know that many people think that homosexual relationships should be illegal. I don’t think I know any one that thinks we should start stoning people like in the Bible. My parents, however, did frequently remind my brother that if we’d live in Israel thousands of years ago they could have him stoned for rebellion…. However, there are many people who honestly want to bring back stoning, into 21st century America.

Gary North, Rousas John Rushdoony, and other christian reconstructionists think we should bring back the levitical laws regarding stoning homosexuals, rebellious sons, and adulterers.

Libby Anne quotes Gary North

“Why stoning? There are many reasons. First, the implements of execution are available to everyone at virtually no cost. Executions are community projects—not with spectators who watch a professional executioner do ‘his’ duty, but rather with actual participants. … That modern Christians never consider the possibility of the reintroduction of stoning for capital crimes indicates how thoroughly humanistic concepts of punishment have influenced the thinking of Christians.”

Yep, Christians who don’t want to participate in the ‘community project’ of stoning a rebellious teenager (because rebelling against parents is a ‘capital crime’) have been influenced by humanism. And as any good homeschooled christian knows, humanism is dragging our country into hell in a handbasket. What exactly is humanism? I dunno, i guess basically it’s worship of people instead of god which is basically what satan tricked Adam and Eve into, so basically, run.

I know what humanism is now, but I didn’t back when humanist thought was a huge danger to be wary of when I want to college. Apparently I have now imbibed so much humanism that i can’t see the good in Gary North’s very Biblical solution to the moral problems in America.

But that’s the thing, isn’t it – most people i know would immediately decry the idea we should stone gays, and yet Gary North’s stoning solution is as ‘biblical’ as saying homosexuality should be outlawed, or that children should never rebel against their parents. Maybe it’s even more biblical.

The problem with a ‘Christian Nation’ and ‘Biblical’ laws – the problem with biblical anything- is that it is never clear what exactly the Bible means. The Bible might seem clear to you, but dozens of people with dozens of interpretations all think the way they understand the Bible is THE BIBLICAL WAY. And they all claim to have God guiding them through the holy spirit.

So, I don’t think we should legislate according to the Bible.

I don’t think we should pick and choose what we think God wants for the country out of the Bible and call it God’s Solution.

And for the record, I don’t think the country is going to be wrecked because men marry men or because children forge their own paths and make their own decisions.

A country full of loving, thinking people – if it isn’t a ‘biblical’ solution at least it sounds like a better idea than stoning people we think are wrong.

One thought on “Do we want a ‘Christian Nation’?

  1. Anthony Baker

    Lana, I came across your blog while perusing articles suggested as “similar” to mine. I read your Proverbs 31 piece, then I came to this one in order to get a better feel for where you were coming from. Maybe you could check out the post I was writing. It will be on my ProverbialThought.com blog on Monday, 4/15. It’s called “She’s a Good Thing.”

    Anyway, I just wanted to comment on a couple of things I read of yours. I hope you don’t mind. First, I would encourage you to write more often If you really want to blog, then don’t worry about having anything important to say – just make it from your heart. The only suggestion I would have is don’t submit anything without reading it aloud. If you’re gonna offer it to the world, make sure you try to be a good editor. The world is full of people who will discredit your ideas if all you do is misuse a comma.

    The other thing is that I am a Christian – a vocal one, at that. But I do not desire for America to be a “Christian” nation in the sense that you describe above. What I do want is for Christians to BE Christians IN America. I DO want Christians to engage culture, but I don’t want to see them try to RULE culture.

    And when it comes to other things, like how to interpret Scripture, there is too much to take the time and space here. Suffice to say, the art of hermenuetics is not for wimps, but there are basic principles anyone can use to come to a better, more accurate understanding of what the Bible REALLY says. That being said, a Christian who understands the context and meaning of the Old Testament, not someone who loves to throw around irresponsible suggestions to impose Levitical law, would have nothing to do with stoning anyone today. Contrary to the so-called experts who use the “stoning” argument in an attempt to intimidate Christians, a truly Christian nation, if it were able to come about, would bear striking similarities to the Providence, Rhode Island charter of 1663: “Our royal will and pleasure is, that no person within the said colony, at any time hereafter, shall be in any wise molested, punished, disquieted, or called in question, for any differences of opinion in matters of religion, and do not actually disturb the civil peace of the said colony.” Roger Williams, remember, the founder of Rhode Island, founded the first Baptist church in America. He was not a humanist.

    Jesus never sought to overturn the Roman rule (which was one of the reasons the Jewish people turned on him); He came for other reasons more eternal (1 Timothy 1:15). However, because Jesus’ true followers preached a heavenly kingdom, before a hundred years had gone by, they had already “turned the world upside down” (Acts 17:6).

    I hope this wasn’t too long, Lana. Please forgive me if it was. I just felt it necessary to share two of the very few cents I have left 😉

    May God bless you as you blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

